No Friendship is an Accident

When I entered treatment at Carolina House I had absolutely no idea what to expect. I knew there would be food and therapy…and honestly, that was about it. I hadn’t much thought about the details of what would happen hour to hour, or the fact that I would essentially be living in a sorority house full of girls with eating disorders (CH Sorority Sisters, waddup).

So when I went to Carolina House I was not expecting to like anyone; how could I make friends when my life was literally a living hell?

When I went to Carolina House I wasn’t expecting to open myself up to and cry on the shoulders of girls I had known for less than a week.

When I went to Carolina House I thought I was alone. Absolutely no one understood me.

I was wrong.

Other than a new inner strength, a new outlook on life, and a glimmer of hope for a real, happy future, Carolina House gave me something immeasurable through getting to know and learn from some of the most incredible, beautiful, strong and compassionate women I have ever met in my entire life. In treatment I had a hoard to people I could go to when I needed to talk, cry, vent or simply to not be alone.

When I left residential I worried that I had lost that comfort, but boy was I wrong. All of the women I met at Carolina House left a mark on my heart, especially the ones who continue to support me outside of that setting. I met my best friends in residential treatment. They know. They are there for anything: urges, slips, triumphs, laughs. These girls understand and I have never, never had that.

I owe Carolina House for a lot of things, but right now I owe them for all of the love and support they have me through bringing me together with my amazing, amazing new friends.

If you’re reading this (and you know who you are), thank you. Thank you for letting me in and helping me out when I have needed it most. I love you all to death. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you. Words will never be enough.

So if you’re lacking support or worried about being lost and alone in treatment, take my story to heart. I am blessed to have found myself at Carolina House and I am blessed to have been a part of these women’s amazing journeys as well.

Leave a Reply

